Price trends

Predict prices and prepare more accurate budgets: a tool for you

Price trends is a simple Excel tool to establish the link between price of pork x, feed cost y, based on data from the operation and the ASRA (Farm Income Stabilization Insurance: FISI) compensation for the coming months and years. Producers and management stakeholders who have to cost out budget forecasts will find this tool gives them a consistent framework to work with.

The tool gives price projections for pork, corn and soybean meal, and their overall impact on the prices of feed for sows, piglets and hogs. The forecast covers the current year and the following year, on a monthly basis for the next 12 months (cash budgets) as well as on an annual basis. These price forecasts are based on changes in the Chicago futures market. The forecasts are updated quarterly to reflect market changes with the shortest possible delay.

In order to adapt prices to the situation of each particular swine operation, the grain and feed price forecast are offered as indices; 2017 is the base year (index 100). This allows the operation/company to use its 2018 average input price and multiply it by the index for the specified period to obtain a price estimate for this period. For example, if the swine operation paid $230/t on average for its corn in 2017 and the 2018 index is 103, the company can budget for a price of $237/t for its corn in 2018 (i.e. $230/t x 103/100).

This tool uses price forecasts to calculate FISI compensation and applicable premiums. Calculations of compensation and dues are based on the application of the new FISI farrow-to-finish model costs, also called the basic model, corresponding to all operations analysed for the survey.

Important:
This Pricing Trends and FISI Projections model gives you an estimate of what the market prices for pork, feed and the ASRA compensation and premiums for 2018 and 2019 could be. But to do this, we apply the forecast price for 2018 and 2019 respectively on the known ASRA (FISI) 2012 model which is in force since January 1, 2014.
 
FREE SIMPLE COPY of Price Trends - May 2017 (tendances des prix) (Excel File) (French)

The quarterly publication Tendances des prix is available by subscription only. Click on the subscription form (French) to view the rates for subscribing to Tendances des prix or for a combined subscription including Tendances des prix, Men$uel PORC et Valeur des stocks.

Tendances des prix

Prévoir les prix pour préparer des budgets plus précis: un outil à votre disposition

Tendances des prix est un outil simple élaboré dans le logiciel Excel pour établir le lien entre un prix du porc « x », un coût d’alimentation « y » basé sur les données de l’entreprise et la compensation d’ASRA des prochains mois et années. Avec cet outil, les producteurs et intervenants en gestion qui doivent établir des budgets prévisionnels trouveront ainsi un cadre de travail cohérent.

L’outil présente une perspective des prix du porc, du maïs et du tourteau de soja, ainsi que leur impact général sur les prix des moulées « truies », « porcelets » et « porcs ». Les prévisions couvrent l’année en cours et l’année suivante, sur une base mensuelle pour les 12 prochains mois (pour les budgets de trésorerie) ainsi que sur une base annuelle. Ces prévisions de prix sont basées sur l’évolution des marchés à terme de Chicago. Les prévisions sont mises à jour chaque trimestre afin de refléter le plus rapidement possible l’évolution des marchés.

Afin de les adapter à la situation de chaque entreprise, les prévisions de prix de grains et de moulées sont proposées sous forme d’indices, 2017 étant l’année de référence (indice 100). Cela permet à l’entreprise d’utiliser son prix d’intrant moyen de 2018 et de le multiplier par l’indice de la période visée pour obtenir une estimation du prix pour cette période. Par exemple, si l’entreprise a payé son maïs 230 $/t en moyenne en 2017 et que l’indice de 2018 est de 103, l’entreprise peut budgéter un prix de 237 $/t pour son maïs en 2018 (soit 230 $/t x 103/100).

Cet outil utilise les prévisions de prix pour calculer la compensation et la cotisation ASRA qui y sont rattachées. Les calculs de compensation et de cotisation sont basés sur l’application des coûts au nouveau modèle « ASRA - naisseur-finisseur » connu sous le nom de « modèle de base », correspondant à toutes les entreprises échantillonnées dans l'enquête.

Note importante:
Ce modèle de « Tendances des prix et prévisions ASRA », vous donne une estimation de ce que pourraient être les marchés du prix du porc, des aliments et des compensations et primes ASRA, pour 2018 et 2019. Or pour ce faire, nous appliquons les prévisions de prix de 2018 et 2019 respectivement sur le modèle ASRA connu de 2012 qui est en vigueur depuis 1er janvier 2014.
 

La publication trimestrielle Tendances des prix est disponible sur abonnement seulement. Pour consulter le tarif d’abonnement à Tendances des prix ou celui d’un abonnement mixte – Tendances des prix, Men$uel PORC et Valeur des stocks, cliquez sur le formulaire d’abonnement.