The CDPQ participates in the Swine Research days in Paris

Paris, February 6-7, 2018
The 50th Swine Research days (JRP) were held this year, coorganized by the IFIP and INRA. This annual conference, involving all actors of the swine research and development industry, was held on February 6th and 7th, in Paris.
 
Our senior manager in data analysis and evaluation, Patrick Gagnon, was there to present the results from a research project conducted at the Deschambault swine station about individual water consumption in growing hogs. As a part of this project, average daily water consumption was analysed as a potential predictor of feed intake, growth speed, nutritional conversion and health problems.

To learn more on this research project, consult the Abstract JRP or the Powerpoint presentation (In french).

Collaboration on other projects presented during the Swine Research Days

Other specialists from the CDPQ, Frédéric Fortin, Senior Manager in Genetics, and Laetitia Cloutier, Senior Manager in Nutrition, also collaborated to two research projects presented during the event:
  • Comparison of performances of commercial pigs sired by boars with low or high potential for boar taint issues, Laurence Maignel, Frédéric Fortin, Patrick Gagnon, Mohsen Jafarikia, James Squires, Brian Sullivan
  • Development of a decision support tool for precision feeding of pregnant sows, Jean-Yves Dourmad, Patrick Gagnon, Ludovic Brossard, Candido Pomar, Laetitia Cloutier

Conferences & Events

Le CDPQ aux Journées de la Recherche Porcine à Paris

Paris, 6 et 7 février 2018
Cette année ont eu lieu les 50èmes Journées de la Recherche Porcine, coorganisées par l'IFIP et l'INRA. Ce rendez-vous annuel des acteurs de la R-D porcine s’est tenu les 6 et 7 février, à Paris.

Notre responsable en analyses et valorisation des données, Patrick Gagnon, était sur place pour présenter les résultats d’un projet réalisé à la station de Deschambault, portant sur la consommation d’eau individuelle chez les porcs en croissance. Dans le cadre de ce projet, la consommation d’eau moyenne journalière a été analysée en tant que prédicteur potentiel de la prise alimentaire, de la vitesse de croissance, de la conversion alimentaire et des problèmes de santé.

Vous aimeriez en savoir plus sur ce projet ? Consultez l'article des JRP ou la présentation Power Point.

Collaboration à d’autres projets présentés aux JRP

Deux autres de nos spécialistes, soit Frédéric Fortin, responsable du secteur Génétique et Laetitia Cloutier, responsable en Alimentation et nutrition animale, ont aussi collaboré à deux projets présentés dans le cadre de ces journées :
  • Comparaison des performances de porcs commerciaux issus de verrats à faible et fort potentiel pour les défauts d’odeurs dans la viande, Laurence Maignel, Frédéric Fortin, Patrick Gagnon, Mohsen Jafarikia, James Squires, Brian Sullivan
  • Développement d’un outil d’aide à la décision pour l’alimentation de précision des truies en gestation, Jean-Yves Dourmad, Patrick Gagnon, Ludovic Brossard, Candido Pomar, Laetitia Cloutier

Conférences et événements